December 6, 2023
Dancing with the Stars

Dancing with the Stars Around the World

With the huge popularity that the show has received it is possible to find versions of Dancing with the Stars in several different countries. With the success sweeping the world the show is popping up in areas that it never would have before. While the original version is based out of the United Kingdom there have been franchises sold all around the world, which have further expanded the popularity of the show.

Australia – The show features four judges and has successfully finished seven seasons so far. The very first season started in late 2004 and has run up until late 2007 so far.

Austria – This version finds a total of three judges with two hosts handling the show. Season one hit the airwaves in the fall of 2005 and the show has so far enjoyed four successful seasons.

Brazil – Up against a history of five successful seasons, the show marches on further.

Chile – With the very first season starting on October 16, 2006, the show has been going strong ever since. A total of four seasons has so far been completed.

China – The first season hit the airwaves in the end of 2007. This was intended to mark the anniversary of the handover of Hong Kong to the People’s Republic of China from the United Kingdom. The show is released under a joint venture between Hong Kong’s TVB and mainland’s Hunan TV. Each station sends a total of five women and five men to the competition for a total of 20 competitors or 10 couples. The actual match-ups are handled by SMS voting before the show begins.

Croatia – Features two hosts and four judges the first season kicked off on December 2, 2006. The show began with eight couples paired together. Season two started on November 3, 2007 and again featured eight couples dancing together.

Czech Republic – Season one danced to begin during the winter of 2006 and season two started a year later in the winter of 2007. Each season featured eight couples and also four judges. Two hosts were also used for the show.

Denmark – After starting in the Spring of 2005, the series began with seven couples. At the conclusion of season four there were eleven couples competing. A Christmas Galla in 2007 featured six couples. There were three standard judges in the competition; however, occasional guest judges were used as well.

Estonia – Begun in the Fall of 2006 the show began with eight couples including several politicians and season two started on October 7, 2007.

Finland – Started in the Spring of 2006 it first featured eight couples partnered together. The second season also featured eight couples. However, when season three began in the Spring of 2008 it featured ten couples.

Germany – With season one started with eight contestants in April 2006 and season two began in May of 2006. Season two expanded to ten couples.

Italy – The first season aired on Autumn 2004 and featured a start of eight couples. For season two there was a total of twelve couples. Season three offered fourteen couples and season five offered again twelve couples.

The Netherlands – With a series first starting in the late summer of 2005. There have so far been a total of three full seasons and two additional specials.

As you can see, this is just a small list and it has spanned a large percentage of the world.